Multi-media book trailer

The subject of my multi-media book trailer was The Relatives Came by Cynthia Rylant and with illustrations by Stephen Gammell.

the-relatives-came.jpg

Trailer:

A link to the trailer itself may be found here: https://www.powtoon.com/c/fzpErhg97BS/1/m

Story board:

I couldn’t get my scanner to connect tonight, but I’ll get my story board up in the morning!

Reflection and analysis:

This assignment posed a challenge on two levels: technological and creative. It also neatly book-ended my career in the MLIS program by giving me the opportunity to use PowToon, a program I used during my first semester in the program as part of my work for LSC 508.

Designing a book trailer was a bit like putting together an essay or presentation, only with a “third dimension” of performance. Like the outline of an essay, the storybooking helped to sketch out the ideas I presented and show their relationship to one another. Like putting together a presentation, composing the trailer forced me to translate my key points into a visual format. Unlike an outline or a presentation, building an effective trailer required paying attention to the whole work as a product that was both independent of and the sum of its parts. That involved thinking about ways to make that come together and struggling (at points) with the software to bring those ideas to life.

Using PowToon was both a reminder of where I began and a nice marker of how much I have learned over these last two years. Dr. Mandel directed us to use a broad range of online and other software tools, of which PowToon was one. I remember how overwhelming it felt both to understand the content of LSC 508, much of which was well outside of my background prior to the MLIS program and to find a way to synthesize it using these tools I was learning on the fly. I hope that my effort with this assignment was effective and reflected an understanding of the themes and learning objectives of both this course and the MLIS curriculum!

Of the two, the creative challenge was far more daunting. I have realized more and more that I am not a very creative person. I tend to focus on the technical aspects of the work we do in this program and the technical aspects of the works we evaluate. I also have trouble visualizing creative ways to express ideas. As a result, much of my work ends up being formulaic: I see what others have done, find small refinements I can make to their format and proceed on that basis.

I was a high school language teacher many years ago and in retrospect realize that I was no more creative then than I am now. However, creativity was less important (or so I thought) than delivering content. Our group book discussions have caused me to think about the way I might use these texts with their target audience. I am not sure how much of my previous experience would be relevant to that work or whether seeing texts in this new way might ignite a spark of creativity in me that I have yet to light in this program. I am sure a room full of bored faces would cause me to re-think my approach to a book or topic very quickly and might bring out some very innovative ideas!

 

Leave a Reply

